Political Economy Seminar

political_economy.png
Program Series:

The Political Economy Seminar brings faculty and students together from across the campus. The seminar primairly focuses on formal or applied (game) theory analysis of topics in political economy or political science, e.g., voting, learning in elections, corruption, political selection and bad governments, civil and interstate conflict.

Professors:  Ernesto Dal Bo and Robert Powell

All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.

September 11 

Alessandro Lizzeri, NYU 

September 18

PERL 

September 25 

Paul Novosad, Dartmouth 

October 2 

PERL 

October 9 

Columbus Day 

October 16 

Na'ama Shenhav, Dartmouth 

October 23 

PERL 

October 30 

Bill Easterly, NYU 

November 6 

PERL 

November 13 

Saad Gulzar, Stanford 

November 20 

PERL 

November 27 

December 4 

PERL 

All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.

February 6

Andrea Matranga, New Economic School, Russia

February 20

Francesco Squintani, University of Warwick

March 6

Antonin Macé, Aix-Marseille School of Economics

March 20

Jeremiah Dittmar, London School of Economics

April 3

Joachim Voth, University of Zurich

April 17

Dana Foarta, Stanford University

All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.

September 12
Yuichiro Kamada, UC Berkeley Haas, “Valence Candidates and Ambiguous Platforms in Policy Announcement Games”

September 26
Steve Callander
, Stanford GSB, “Policy Advice in a Complicated World”

October 10
Mike Ting
, Columbia Poli Sci

October 24: Pierre Yared, Columbia GSB

November 7
Aniol Llorente Saguer
, Queen Mary University of London

November 21
Sean Gailmard
, UC Berkeley Poli Sci

All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.
 
Monday, February 8
“Individual vs. Social Motives in Identity Choice: Theory and Evidence from China"
Speaker: Ruixue Jia (UC San Diego) 
 
Monday, February 29
"Bargaining with Asymmetric Information: An Empirical Study of Plea Negotiations"
Speaker: Bernardo Santos Da Silveira (Washington University)
 
Monday, March 14
"A Principal-Agent Theory of Progressive Learning and Path Dependence"
Speaker: Avi Acharya (Stanford)
 
Monday, April 4
"Social Mobility and Support for Democracy: Re-evaluating de Tocqueville"
Speaker: Konstantin Sonin (Chicago)
 
Monday, April 18
"Ship-napping: the relationship between patronage and exortion during the Sicily-Tunisia Fish War, 1960-1995"
Speaker: Nao Ben-Yehoyada (Cambridge)
 
Monday, April 25
“Geography, Transpareny, and Institutions"
Speaker: Omer Maov (Warwick)
Joint with Micro Theory seminar.
 
Monday, May 2
"Policy Advice in a Complicated World"
Speaker: Steve Callander (Stanford)
All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.
 
Monday, September 28
"Voter Turnout and Preference Aggregation"
Kei Kawai (Berkeley)
 
Monday, October 12
"The Lobbyist's Dilemma"
Alex Hirsch (Cal Tech)
 
Monday, October 26
"Backlash: The Unintended Effects of Language Prohibition in US Schools after World War I"
Vicky Fouka (Stanford)
 
Monday, November 16
“Conservation Contracts and Political Regimes"
Bard Harstad (UiO)
 
Monday, November 23
“Dynamics of Policymaking: Stepping Back to Leap Forward, Stepping Forward to Keep Back"
Peter Buisseter (Chicago)
All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.
 
Monday, February 2
"The Distributional Preferences of Americans"
Shachar Kariv (Berkeley)
 
Monday, February 9
"Curriculum and Ideology"
Noam Yuchtman (Berkeley)
 
Monday, March 2
"State Capacity, Local Governance and Economic Development in Vietnam." Joint paper with Melissa Dell and Nathan Lane
Pablo Querubin (NYU)

 
Monday, March 16
“Tailoring Intertemporal Incentives: An Application to Polio Vaccination Drives in Pakistan"
Michael Callen (Harvard)

 
Monday, April 6
“Informative Cheap Talk in Elections"
Richard Van Weelden (Chicago)

 
Monday, April 20
“Informative Voting in Large Elections"
Adam Meirowitz (Princeton)

 
Monday, May 4
“Norms, Enforcement, and Tax Evasion"
Torsten Persson (Stockholm University)
All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.
 
Monday, September 15
Stelios Michalopoulos (Brown) 
 
Monday, September 29
Camilo Garcia-Jimeno (Penn)
 
Monday, October 13
"Informative Voting in Large Elections"
Adam Meirowitz (Princeton)
 
Monday, October 27
Melissa Dell (Harvard)
 
Monday, November 10
"A Theory of Power Wars"
Salvatore Nunnari (Columbia)
 
Monday, November 24
“On the Joint Dynamics of Culture and Institutions"
Alberto Bisin (NYU)
All events will be held from 12:30-2 p.m. in 223 Moses Hall unless otherwise specified.
 
Monday, January 27
“A Political Economy Theory of Fiscal Policy and Unemployment"
Speaker: Marco Battaglini (Princeton) 
 
Monday, February 10
"One in a Million: A Field Experiment on Pivotal Voting and Belief Formation"
Speaker: John Morgan (UC Berkeley)
 
Monday, February 24
"Political Ideology and Racial Preferences in Online Dating"
Speaker: Neil Malhotra (Stanford)
 
Monday, March 10
Title TBA
Speaker: Pablo Montagnes (Chicago)
 
Monday, March 31
"Electoral Control and the Human Capital of Politicians"
Speaker: Carlo Prato (Georgetown)
 
Monday, April 14
“Guns and Votes"
Speaker: Paola Conconi (Brussels)
 
Monday, April 28
TBA
Speaker: Jean-Laurent Rosenthal (CalTech)
Monday, September 9, 12-2 p.m.
223 Moses Hall
“The Demand for Bad Policy When Voters Underappreciate Equilibirium Effects"  
Speaker: Ernesto Dal Bo 
 
Monday, September 23, 12-2 p.m.
223 Moses Hall
"Moderating Political Extremism: Single Round vs. Runoff Elections Under Plurality Rule"
Speaker: Guido Tabellini (Bocconi University)
 
Monday, October 7, 12-2 p.m.
223 Moses Hall
"Discrimination and Assimilation"
Speaker: Jon Eguia (NYU)
 
Monday, Monday, October 21, 12-2 p.m.
223 Moses Hall
“Political Violence Cycles”
Speaker: Andrew Little (Cornell)
 
Monday, November 4, 12-2 p.m.
223 Moses Hall
"Are Social Media More Social than Media? Evidence from Ideological segregation on Twitter"
Speaker: Yosh Halberstam (University of Toronto)
 
Monday, November 25, 12-2 p.m.
223 Moses Hall
“Does Religion Affect Economic Growth and Happiness? Evidence from Ramadan"
Speaker: Filipe Campante (Harvard)